Si Woo Park scored her fourth win in succession at Deep-Jewels 31 in Tokyo tonight. The Korean went the distance with Saori Oshima in Shinjuku, earning a unanimous decision win in their atomweight bout.

Oshima tried for a takedown almost immediately after the bell but briefly found herself on the bottom. Park was in a dominant position but could not maintain it and was swept.

Oshima tried for an armbar but the Korean escaped. This led to a lengthy scramble with the Japanese fighter fishing for leg locks while Park enjoyed positional dominance.

Point deduction

In the second round Oshima persistently looked to get the fight down. But Park’s takedown defence was on point although she was penalized for kicking the head of a downed opponent.

A point deduction ensued which put the Japanese fighter firmly in control of this three round fight. Oshima remained determined to get the fight down but on the rare occasions that she did succeed the Korean popped straight back up.

The point deduction seemed to play into Oshima’s hands and she continued to hunt for takedowns in the final round. Once again Park fought off her attempts valiantly and was able to score with some short punches while defending the takedowns.

Closing exchanges

In the closing exchanges Oshima continued to try for the takedown but found herself in bottom position. Park was inside the Japanese fighter’s guard and looked to score with punches as the bell sounded to end the fight.

The point deduction made the judge’s task more complicated. But all three of them voted in favour of the Korean who improves to 4-2 while her opponent drops to 3-2.

Best of the rest

Earlier in the day Miki Motono (6-1) made it four wins in a row, beating Seika Izawa (1-1) by decision in their strawweight contest. In flyweight action Mika Arai (6-4) handed Mikiko Shimizu (2-1) her first ever defeat with a decision win.

Deep-Jewels 31, Tokyo, December 19th
Si Woo Park def. Saori Oshima via Decision (Unanimous)
Miki Motono def. Seika Izawa via Decision (Unanimous)
Marina Kumagai def. Kate Lotus via Submission (Armbar) at 4:33 of Round 1
Mika Arai def. Mikiko Shimizu via Decison (Majority)
Otoha Nagao def. Mika Sakamoto via Decision (Unanimous)
Ayaka Watanabe def. Akari Jinno via TKO (Punches) at 4:56 of Round 1
Moe Sasaki def. Moeri Suda via Decision (Unanimous)