Takafumi Otsuka faced Rikuto Shirakawa in the main event of Deep 91 in Tokyo on Sunday. Unfortunately the fight lasted less than 30 seconds with the former sustaining what appeared to be a shoulder injury.

Shirakawa came charging out the blocks as soon as the bell sounded and appeared to catch Otsuka with a left hand. He looked to dish out further punishment to the former Deep 135lbs and 145lbs champion who was able to secure a body lock and get the fight to the ground.

Otsuka moved from top position to side control before taking Shirakawa’s back. The advantage was with the veteran but it soon became apparent that his opponent had sustained a serious looking injury to the arm or shoulder.

© MMA Planet

Premature endings

At Shirakawa’s request the fight was stopped with the finish coming at the 0:26 mark. It will go down as the 26th win of Otsuka’s career but is not a fight that is likely to feature prominently on his highlight reel.

Otsuka improves to 26-16-1 while Shirakawa drops to 7-7-1. Shinsho Anzai‘s comeback also ended prematurely with the UFC veteran sustaining a nasty cut that caused the contest to be called off at the start of the second stanza.

Anzai (11-3) looked the worse for wear but had done enough in the opening round to earn a majority decision win over Yoichiro Sato (21-11) with the fight going to the scorecards after just 39 seconds of round two.

Best of the rest

Yuki Ito (6-0) cemented his status as one of the top prospects in Japanese MMA with a submission win over Yamato Fujita (2-3) late in the opening round. The 22 year old flyweight softened his opponent up with ground and pound before sinking in the rear naked choke.

In the featherweight division Juntaro Ushiku (16-7-1) walked away with a unanimous decision win over Kyosuke Yokoyama (11-7). It was a fourth straight win for the veteran, who has spent the majority of his career competing for Pancrase.

Deep 91, Tokyo, September 8th
Takafumi Otsuka def. Rikuto Shirakawa via TKO (Shoulder Injury) at 0:26 of R1
Juntaro Ushiku def. Kyosuke Yokoyama via Decision (Unanimous)
Shinsho Anzai def. Yoichiro Sato via Technical Decision (Majority) at 0:39 of R2
Yuki Ito def. Yamato Fujita via Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 4:26 of R1
Juri Ohara def. Yukinori Okamura via KO (Punch) at 1:02 of R1
Shooto Watanabe def. Yoichiro Kuranobu via Decision (Unanimous)
Daisuke Endo def. Kazuhide Shirota via Decision (Unanimous)
Mizuki Furuse def. Mika Sakamoto via TKO (Punches) at 4:28 of R1
Tomohiro Adaniya def. Kaito Sakamaki via Decision (Unanimous)
Nao Yoneda def. Ibuki Shimada via Submission (Double Wristlock) at 2:27 of R1
Fuhito Hasegawa def. Kazuki Shibuya via Decision (Split)
Koya Kanda def. Yukihiro Sasaki via TKO (Punches) at 2:17 of R1
Tsubasa Akiyama def. Kozo Moriwaki via Submission (Front Choke) at 4:03 of R2
Yutaka Hayashi def. Rikito Tago via Decision (Unanimous)