Two more fights have been added to the Bellator x Rizin 2 card. The event is set for the Saitama Super Arena on July 30th and the American promotion announced the additional bouts yesterday.

All four fighters are contracted to Bellator. In the bantamweight division Danny Sabatello (14-2) has been matched with Magomed Magomedov (19-3).

The American is a former NCAA Division 1 wrestler who has a reputation for being a bit of a trash talker. Magomedov holds a notable win over Petr Yan from 2016.

In the welterweight division Andrey Koreshkov (26-4) faces Lorenz Larkin (25-7-0-2). Both men have come up short in Bellator title fights in the past.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Bellator MMA (@bellatormma)

Japanese champi0n

As previously announced he main event of the show will also feature two Bellator fighters. AJ McKee and Patricky Freire will meet in the quarter finals of the lightweight Grand Prix.

Meanwhile a Japanese fighter will be crowned as the inaugural Bellator flyweight champion. Kyoji Horiguchi faces Makoto Takahashi with the newly minted title on the line.

McKee (20-1) and Freire (24-11) will meet in then a fight that looks set to headline the card. The American is the former 145lbs champion while the Brazilian previously held the 155lbs belt.

Japanese stars

The card will also feature a flyweight fight pitting Kana Watanabe against Veta Arteaga. The latter will be looking to bounce back from her split decision defeat to Ilima-Lei Macfarlane.

Kai Asakurawill be looking to recapture the Rizin bantamweight title. He has been matched with Bellator’s Juan Archuleta in a fight that will have the vacant belt on the line.

His brother will also be on the card. Mikuru Asakura will be looking for his fourth straight win when he faces Vugar Karamov who has won three in a row.

Bellator x Rizin 2, Tokyo, July 30th
AJ McKee vs. Patricky Freire (Lightweight)
Kyoji Horiguchi vs. Makoto Takahashi (For Bellator flyweight title)
Kana Watanabe vs. Veta Arteaga (Flyweight)
Kai Asakura vs. Juan Archuleta (For Rizin bantamweight title)
Mikuru Asakura vs Vugar Karamov (Featherweight)
Danny Sabatello vs. Magomed Magomedov (Bantamweight)
Andrey Koreshkov vs. Lorenz Larkin (Welterweight)