Petchpanomrung retains featherweight belt at Glory 63
The first time Petchpanomrung Kiatmoo9 fought Serhii Adamchuk there was virtually nothing to separate the fighters and the Thai won by split decision. At Glory 63 the gulf between them was vast, with the champion comfortably winning every single round.
Petchpanomrung was making the first defence of his Glory featherweight title and it proved to be a relatively easy night’s work for the multiple time Muay Thai champion. Adamchuk tried a side kick to the face right from the opening bell but was outworked in the opening round.
This pattern continued in the second stanza as Petchpanomrung consistently scored with kicks to the legs and midsection of the Ukrainian. The Thai was also looking sharp in the clinch and firing off knees before the referee had a chance to separate the two men.
At the end of the second round Adamchuk’s corner told him they thought he might be ahead but didn’t really sound convinced and the challenger looked completely bereft of ideas in the third. Petchpanomrung attempted a spinning back kick early on, but soon settled into a pattern of scoring with kicks to the body and knees in the clinch.
The body kicks were coming thick and fast in the fourth and Adamchuk looked bereft of confidence. He was warned for fighting on after the break but couldn’t find a way to close the distance and use his hands without being tied up in the clinch.
Adamchuk went into the fifth round knowing he needed at least a knockdown. However he let Petchanomrung seize the centre of the ring and chose to bide his time setting up a telegraphed rolling thunder kick, which the champion easily evaded.
The judges had a straightforward task and found themselves in total agreement. All three scored it 50-45 in favour of Petchpanomrung, the Thai southpaw retains the Glory featherweight title and looks set to dominate the division for years to come.
By winning on American soil Petchpanomrung successfully emulates compatriot Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong who defended his lightweight strap at Glory 61 in New York last year.
Wensheng Zhang can consider himself fortunate to have come away with a split decision win against Lorawnt-t Nelson. The Chinese lightweight got the benefit of the doubt from the referee who awarded him a dubious knockdown in the second round, effectively losing the fight for the unfortunate South African.