Abdul Azim Badakhshi has finally been welcomed into the fold by Matrix Fight Night. He managed to get not only himself but every single other fighter banned by the promotion after starting a riot last year.

It appears all has been forgiven and forgotten because Badakhshi has been booked to face Hae Jin Park in a featherweight bout at Matrix Fight Night 13.  The bout will have been put together by newly appointed matchmaker Krishna Shroff, who just happens to be the Afghan’s long term girlfriend.

It was her mother, Ayesha Shroff, who announced that she was banning all Afghan fighters after the brawl at Matrix Fight Night 9. Badakhshi is alleged to have led an angry mob of Afghans and assaulted Indian fighter Srikant Sekhar.

Badakhshi (13-3) has not fought for nearly 18 months. He was last seen at Matrix Fight Night 8 beating Brazilian Fabricio Oliveira by decision.

Park (10-3) is one of the top featherweights in Korea. He holds a win over Soo Chul Kim but is coming off a decision loss to Shutaro Debana at Road FC 64.

Main event

Badakhshi has been handed co-main event status on this fight card. Headlining the event will be a featherweight title fight with Sanjeet Budhwar rematching Shyam Anand.

Budhwar (9-2) won the title by beating Atabek Abdimitalipov at Matrix Fight Night 10 and will be defending it for the first time. He comes into this contest on the back of three straight wins.

Anand (4-1) has won four in a row. The only loss of his entire career came at the hands of Budhwar who beat him at Matrix Fight Night 4 back in 2020.

Best of the rest

Jason Solomon (9-3) is unlikely to ever live down his viral nine second KO loss to Amitesh Chaubey in 2015 . The cocky welterweight will be rematching Pawan Maan (8-3-1) on this card.

The date and location for this event remain a mystery but the full fight card is out.

Matrix Fight Night 13, TBA, TBA
Sanjeet Budhwar (c) vs. Shyam Anand (For featherweight title)
Abdul Azim Badakhshi vs. Hae Jin Park (Featherweight)
Mandeep Prjapati vs. Abu Samad (Bantamweight)
Jason Solomon vs. Pawan Maan (Welterweight)
Yuki Angdembe vs. Mohammad Mahmoudiyam (Bantamweight)
Sahil Rana vs. Djordje Stojanovic (Flyweight)
Govind Singh Ale vs. Clindon Dcruz (Flyweight)
Dushan Burale vs. Sameer Dhiman (Middleweight)
Himanshu Kaushik vs. Arsenba Ozokum (Flyweight)
Sonam Zomba vs. Sarita Rathod (Strawweight)
Ningmaithem Bonjovi vs. Arshiyan Memon (Flyweight)
Satyam Kumar vs. Jatin Choudhary (Featherweight)