Amidst all the drama on Friday night with Superbon Banchamek knocking out Giorgio Petrosyan it was easy to miss this Instagram post. But it seems the Armenian’s team are extremely upset with the Thai fighter for celebrating the dramatic KO.
Team Petrosyan posted this in the immediate aftermath of the fight:
View this post on Instagram
There is a screengrab which shows Petrosyan checking on Jo Nattawut’s condition after knocking him out. Then there is a series of screengrabs which show Superbon celebrating wildly after knocking out the Italian.
The caption can be translated as:
“Giorgio Petrosyan KO’d Jo Nattawut and immediately go to check on his conditions and pray. Superbon Banchamek celebrates without caring that Giorgio is unconscious on the ground, forcing the referee to tell him to stop celebrating. Is he a champ?’
Superbon won the ONE Championship featherweight kickboxing title by knocking out Petrosyan so the answer to the question is ‘yes’. I will leave it up to you to decide whether it is appropriate to celebrate when you have just knocked out one of the best kickboxers of all time.
But Petrosyan’s celebration when he knocked out Nattawut in the featherweight Grand Prix semi final in 2019 were muted compared to Superbon’s victory lap after winning the title on Friday. Do his team have a point or are they just struggling to come to terms with their fighter losing?