Kana Morimoto made a successful third defence of her K-1 flyweight title in Tokyo on Monday. She made short work of replacement opponent Mckenna Wade, finishing the English fighter in the first round.

Wade came out hard from the opening bell at the K-1 World Grand Prix, looking unfazed by Kana’s reputation. But the Japanese fighter showed why she is regarded as one of the best in the world by soaking up her attacks before landing a perfectly timed body kick that dropped the English fighter to the canvas.

Wade was unable to beat the count and Kana took the stoppage win just 52 seconds into the opening round. The Japanese fighter had originally been scheduled to take on Amy Pirnie but Wade stepped in when negotiations broke down.

This was Kana’s fourth stoppage win in a row and on this form, it won’t be easy to find an opponent to give her a genuine test. After the fight she took to the mic to call out Anissa Meksen again, although the French fighter is currently involved in a potentially career ending contract dispute.

Title fight

In the main event saw Hiromi Wajima faced Jordann Pikeur. The Japanese fighter was making the second defense of his K-1 super welterweight title against an opponent who had beaten him before.

The rematch was five years in the making. Wajima lost a points decision to Krush champion Pikeur back in 2018 but came into this fight on the back of an impressive fourth round stoppage win over Jomthong Chuwattana in March.

In the opening round Pikeur looked to try and wear down Wajima with pressure and strong hands but the champion managed to avoid taking any real damage. He started to land with sharp counters in the second and slowly took over, landing with solid low kicks and fast high kicks, before trapping the Belgian on the ropes.

From there Wajima unleashed a barrage of heavy punches that saw the referee jump in to save Pikeur. The finish came at the 2:17 mark and capped off a dominant night for the Japanese fighters.

K-1 World Grand Prix 2023, Tokyo, July 17th
Hiromi Wajima (c) def. Jordann Pikeur via TKO (Punches) at 2:17 of R2 (For super welterweight title)
Kana (c) def. Mckenna Wade via KO (Kick) at 0:52 of R1 (For flyweight title)
Masaaki Noiri def. Amansio Paraschiv via KO (Kick) at 1:33 of R1
Taito Gunji def. Dausayam Wor Wanchai via Decision (Unanimous)
Miyuu Sugawara def. Dimitra Agathangelidou via Decision (Unanimous)
Yuki Yoza def. Aikmongkol Gaiyanghadao via KO (Kick) at 0:43 of R1
Ștefan Lătescu def. K-Jee via KO (Punch) at 1:53 of R1
Seiya Tanigawa def. Akira Jr via Decision (Unanimous)
Carlos Budiao def. Ryunosuke Hoshi via TKO (3 knockdowns) at 0:58 of R1
Toma def. View Petchkoson via TKO (Punches) 3 2:52
Tatsuki Shinotsuka def. Yusuke via KO (Punches) at 0:46 of R4
Saho def. Mariya Suzuki Decision (Unanimous)
Chikara Iwao def. Koki via KO (Body punches) at 1:45 of R1
Jomthong Chuwattana def. Ayinta Ali via Decision (Unanimous)
Kira Matsutani def. Phayahong Ayutthayafightgym via Exta Round Decision (Unanimous)
Yuto Shinohara def. Ryuka via Decision (Unanimous)
Taimu Hisai def. Ryuto Decision (Majority)
Fumiya Osawa def. Hisaki Higashimoto via Decision (Unanimous)
Kento Ito def. Tingtong Seikenkai via Decision (Unanimous)
Hayato Suzuki def. Dansiam AyutthayaFightgym via KO (Punch) at 1:28 of R1
Fukashi draw with Sijun Jin via Decision (Split)
Kuto Ueno def. Shuichi Inoue via KO (Low kick) at 2:59 of R2