Tenshin will finally fight Takeru in June. But before that he is in action at Rizin 33 on New Year’s Eve and today it was announced that retired MMA star Takanori Gomi will be his opponent.

The fight was announced earlier today:

The two will face off under ‘special standing rules. Tenshin is widely regarded as being one of the best kickboxers on the planet while Gomi made his name competing for Pride at the start of the century.

As previously announced Japanese based Brazilian Roberto de Souza will defend his lightweight title against Yusuke Yachi at Rizin 33. The card will consist exclusively of local fighters due to ongoing travel restrictions.

In the super atomweight division champion Ayaka Hamasaki faces Seika Izawa in a non title fight. The bantamweight Grand Prix will conclude at Rizin 33.

The semi finals have been set with Hiromasa Ougikubo facing Naoki Inoue and Kai Asakura taking on Kenta Takizawa. Yuki Motoya takes on Yuto Hokamura in the alternate bout.

A catchweight contest between Rena Kubota and Si Woo Park is also on the card. The two will face off at 50kgs, slightly above the super atomweight limit.

Rizin 33, Tokyo, December 31st
Roberto Souza (c) vs. Yusuke Yachi (For lightweight title)
Kickboxing: Tenshin Nasukawa vs. Takanori Gomi
Yutaka Saito vs. Mikuru Asakura (Featherweight)
Kyohei Hagiwara vs. Hiroaki Suzuki (Featherweight)
Ayaka Hamasaki vs. Seika Izawa (Super atomweight)
Koji Takeda vs. Beynoah (Lightweight)
Shoma Shibisai vs. Hideki Sekine (Heavyweight)
Mixed rules: Atsushi Saito vs. Yuta Kubo (Catchweight)
Rena Kuota vs. Si Woo Park (Catchweight)
Kickboxing: Kouzi vs. Ya-Man (Catchweight)
Kota Miura vs. Yushi (Featherweight)
Hiromasa Ougikubo vs. Naoki Inoue (Bantamweight Grand Prix 1/2 final)
Kai Asakura vs. Kenta Takizawa (Bantamweight Grand Prix 1/2 finals)
Yuki Motoya vs. Yuto Hokamura (Bantamweight Grand Prix alternate bout)