A lightweight title fight will headline Rizin 28. The event is set for the Tokyo Dome on June 13th with Tofiq Musaev and Roberto de Souza set to face of with the inaugural 155lbs belt on the line.

Musayev (18-3) has not fought since Rizin 20 in 2019 when he beat two opponents in a single night to win the promotion’s lightweight Grand Prix. He was subsequently involved in a dispute over pay but that has long since been resolved and the Azerbaijani fighter is currently in quarantine in Japan.

De Souza (11-1) is a BJJ black belt who is based permanently in Japan. He is coming off back to back stoppage wins at Rizin 22 and Rizin 27 and has also competed in submission grappling numerous times for the promotion, winning every time.

Also added to the card today was a featherweight fight pitting newly crowned champion Yutaka Saito (19-4-2) against promotional newcomer Vugar Keramov (15-3) in a non title bout.  The latter hails from Azerbaijan and is already in quarantine in Japan.

In the heavyweight division Tsuyoshi Sudario (3-0) has been matched with Shoma Shibisai (6-2). The card will also feature a catchweight contest which is set for 73kgs and pits Satoshi Yamasu (11-6) against Bey Noah, a karate specialist making his MMA debut.

As previously announced Mikuru Asakura booked to face compatriot Kleber Koike Erbst in a featherweight fight. The event will also feature the first four fights in the bantamweight Grand Prix.

Kai Asakura  will take on Shooto Watanabe, Naoki Inoue goes up against Shintaro Ishiwatari, Yuki Motoya faces Ryo Okada and Takeshi Kasugai has been matched with Hiromasa Ougikubo. The other four fights in the opening round are set for Rizin 29.

This will be the first time in 18 years that an MMA event has been held at the Tokyo Dome and Rizin hopes to be able to welcome around 10,000 fans.

Rizin 28, Tokyo Dome, June 13th
Tofiq Musaev vs Roberto Souza (For inaugural lightweight title)
Satoshi Yamasu vs Bay Noah (Catchweight)
Tsuyoshi Sudario vs Shoma Shibisai (Heavyweight)
Yutaka Saito vs Vugar Keramov (Featherweight)
Mikuru Asakura vs. Kleber Koike Erbst (Featherweight)
Kai Asakura vs. Shooto Watanabe (Bantamweight Grand Prix Opening Round)
Naoki Inoue vs. Shintaro Ishiwatari  (Bantamweight Grand Prix Opening Round)
Yuki Motoya vs. Ryo Okada (Bantamweight Grand Prix Opening Round)
Takeshi Kasugai vs. Hiromasa Ougikubo (Bantamweight Grand Prix Opening Round)